1. Are you a current member with account or password issues? Email us with username, email & what the issue is.

Australian Rescue Knife

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by MedicInTraining, Nov 9, 2012.

• In Omnia Paratus

MedicInTraining Loaded Pockets

Before starting this review I would like to point out some key points:

• I bought this knife myself, I’ve had correspondence with the seller post purchase but I’m writing this review for other Australians
    • I am not a knife expert. I don’t own a plethora of knive
    • I bought the following knife off of ebay for $25, from an Australian seller.
    • The knife is legal in Australia (granted you have a purpose for carrying as with all knives).
    • The knife is made out of 440 Stainless Steel.
    • The blade at is made in Taiwan so it's not Australian Made but it is available in Australia
    I meant to have pictures to upload with this but my camera doesn't like me at the moment but there will be pictures to come!

Features
    This knife is marketed as a tactical rescue folding knife and the specifications live up to the name.

Blade
    The blade itself is a combination drop point/tactical tano half serrated edge made out of 440 SS and Cerakoted Black to match the knife. The locking mechanism is a liner lock. The blade is 6cm (2.36”) from tip to hilt. The knife is 15.4cm (6.09”) folded out. The blade came sharp (not split a hair sharp) and was able to cut through the remnants of a seat belt when I was doing simulations. The blade also came perfectly centred.

There is a hole for an ambidextrous thumb stud on the blade.
    Positives:
    · The combination between straight and serrated makes it perfect for a rescue knife.
    · The tip is sharp enough that cutting through the seat belts was like cutting through butter
    · The knife is easy to access
    · The knife came perfectly centred
    Cons:
    · After flipping it out 100+ times I’ve found that the knife is quite loose and flops about slightly